Yeti Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

So who's been wasting money on expensive motor oils.??

·
Premium Member
5,140 Posts
Good to know someone is watching our backs for us. Even though I've never previously heard of "Hyperdrive Lubricants Ltd", let alone knowingly used any of their products. Although they claim to have been owned in the past by Castrol, BP and Duckhams, that does not mean any of those companies own branded products were ever formulated by Hyperdrive. For example Fuchs own Derbyshire based Silkolene Lubricants, but Silkolene have no influence on what goes into Fuchs branded products.

Hence while the link is interesting, I don't understand what is meant by the comment "who's been wasting money on expensive motor oils?"

·
Premium Member
5,496 Posts
Who would be buying from an unknown (to me) brand expecting to get a premium product.
I have been using Mobil 1 products in engines for perhaps 30 years, Mobil 1 ESP 5w-30 in car and Mobil 1 Racing 4T 15W-50 in motorcycle.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
, I don't understand what is meant by the comment "who's been wasting money on expensive motor oils?"
That was my comment, as many peeps often say "I don't buy cheap stuff" either from ebay or halfoots.
It just makes me laugh. In reality, you just don't know what you are buying.
I can remember doing a tour in the Comma oil production place (Gravesend I think) who also blended oils for Esso/VW/etc...
Funny that as I walked round, they had Oil stocks for all branded franchises. Even in the correct colouerd cans, saying Genuine VW/Esso oils.....o_O

·
Administrator
13,732 Posts